AFUL: what they publish

In this database3 headphones
Figures from their own material1 of 3
Share33%

This page does not review anything AFUL makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
Explorer26 Ω108.0 dB/mWPublished per mW
Performer 535 Ω110.0 dBUnit not stated
Performer 830 Ω115.0 dBUnit not stated

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Published per mW — 1: the maker prints a decibel figure per milliwatt, which is what the database stores
  • Unit not stated — 2: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted