Westone: what they publish

In this database5 headphones
Figures from their own material1 of 5
Share20%

This page does not review anything Westone makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
MACH 1080 Ω103.0 dBUnit not stated
MACH 2096 Ω110.0 dBUnit not stated
MACH 6035 Ω100.0 dBUnit not stated
MACH 8066 Ω104.0 dBUnit not stated
Pro X1019 Ω114.0 dB/mWPublished per mW

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Published per mW — 1: the maker prints a decibel figure per milliwatt, which is what the database stores
  • Unit not stated — 4: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted

What the paperwork adds up to

Very little of what this site says about Westone came from them. That is not an accusation about how their products sound — it is a statement about their paperwork, and it is the reason those pages carry so many qualifiers.

The rule used here is the same for every maker and is described on the manufacturer index. Every figure behind it can be opened on the product page it came from, with the document it came from linked.