Kinera: what they publish

In this database5 headphones
Figures from their own material2 of 5
Share40%

This page does not review anything Kinera makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
Freya Vanir16 Ω88.0 dB/mWConverted from per volt
Loki Divine Mark14 Ω105.0 dBUnit not stated
Mimisbrunnr43 Ω88.3 dB/mWConverted from per volt
Nott Phantom54 Ω105.0 dBUnit not stated
Sylvie16 Ω107.0 dBUnit not stated

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Converted from per volt — 2: the maker prints a figure per volt, converted here with dB/mW = dB/V − 10·log10(1000/Z)
  • Unit not stated — 3: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted

What the paperwork adds up to

Rather less than half of what this site says about Kinera came from them. The rest is arithmetic, and it is marked as arithmetic on every page.

The rule used here is the same for every maker and is described on the manufacturer index. Every figure behind it can be opened on the product page it came from, with the document it came from linked.