Thieaudio: what they publish

In this database12 headphones
Figures from their own material1 of 12
Share8%

This page does not review anything Thieaudio makes. It counts one thing: how much of what this database says about their products came out of their own documents, and how much had to be worked out or left blank.

Where each sensitivity figure came from

ModelImpedanceSensitivitySource of the figure
Ghost60 Ω91.0 dBUnit not stated
Hype 1018 Ω87.6 dB/mWConverted from per volt
Hype 216 Ω104.0 dB/mWNot published
Hype 417 Ω105.0 dBUnit not stated
Hype 4 MKII18 Ω101.0 dBUnit not stated
Monarch MK320 Ω99.0 dBUnit not stated
Monarch MKII36 Ω108.0 dBUnit not stated
Monarch MKIV10 Ω100.0 dBUnit not stated
Oracle MKII15 Ω104.0 dB/mWNot published
Origin9 Ω102.0 dBUnit not stated
Phantom47 Ω93.0 dBUnit not stated
Prestige LTD22 Ω99.0 dBUnit not stated

Impedance is almost always printed. Sensitivity is the one that goes wrong, because a decibel figure means two very different things depending on whether it is per milliwatt or per volt — about five decibels apart at 300 Ω and eighteen at 16 Ω. The conversion is here.

  • Converted from per volt — 1: the maker prints a figure per volt, converted here with dB/mW = dB/V − 10·log10(1000/Z)
  • Unit not stated — 9: the maker prints a decibel figure with no reference unit, so it is shown as printed and flagged rather than quietly converted
  • Not published — 2: no sensitivity figure in anything the maker published

What the paperwork adds up to

Very little of what this site says about Thieaudio came from them. That is not an accusation about how their products sound — it is a statement about their paperwork, and it is the reason those pages carry so many qualifiers.

The rule used here is the same for every maker and is described on the manufacturer index. Every figure behind it can be opened on the product page it came from, with the document it came from linked.